2018-20 Elections for National Officers

With O∆K’s 50th Biennial National Convention and Leadership Conference approaching, a tremendous opportunity exists for O∆K members who want to employ their leadership skills through service to fellow members as a national officer or volunteer.

The Call for Nominations opened on January 2, 2018.  We are seeking candidates for the following elected positions:

• National President
• National Vice President
• National Student Vice President
• One At-Large Member of the Board of Directors


The National Nominating Committee is also seeking candidates for the following appointed positions for the Omicron Delta Kappa Society Board of Directors:


• Two At-Large Members (one of which must be from outside of the academy)
• Two Student At-Large Members
• Chair of the National Advisory Council


The Society Board of Directors meets by phone four times a year.  In person meetings are held twice a year, and expenses for officers and directors to attend these meetings are covered by Omicron Delta Kappa.


In addition, the National Nominating Committee is also seeking nominations for the members of the appointed National Advisory Council. The National Advisory Council is composed of no fewer than nine and no more than 15 members of the Society. The Board of Directors appoints the members of the National Advisory Council (NAC) for two-year terms each. The NAC is composed of four constituencies: students, circle coordinators, faculty advisors, and alumni. The NAC meets by conference call six times a year.


National officers are elected as part of the biennial convention. The 2018 Biennial National Convention and Leadership Conference will be held May 31 – June 3 in Nashville, Tenn.  The candidates for appointed positions will also be presented at the convention.


Service on the O∆K Board of Directors or National Advisory Council is a wonderful opportunity to help guide the decisions of the Society. This is an exciting time to join the leadership of O∆K.


The National Nominating Committee is chaired by Michael Christakis (Alfred University Circle). Committee members include Allison Baier (St. Lawrence University Circle), Jane Teel (Auburn University Circle), Ryan Upshaw (University of Mississippi Circle), Rick Williams (Grand Valley State University Circle). The committee is staffed by Executive Director Tara Singer.


To learn more about the process, please review the O∆K Nominations and Elections Accepted Guidelines and Procedures.


Any member of the Society may nominate another member to serve. Self-nominations are also accepted. Nominations must be submitted electronically via email by March 1, 2018 (deadline has been extended from original date of February 15, 2018).


To nominate an individual or self-nominate, please provide the following:

a) Nominee(s) name, title, circle of initiation, professional position and organization, mobile phone number, and email address.

b) The position for which the individual is being nominated.

All candidates will also be required to submit, by the March 1 deadline, the following:

a) A standard professional headshot digital photograph.

b) Current resume or curriculum vita devoid of personal information (e.g., home address, home phone number, etc.) and with any references removed. The resume or vita should be submitted in PDF format.

c) Candidate statement (500-700 words, Microsoft Word format) that clearly and concisely articulates the nominee’s leadership philosophy, purpose for running, and goals for the Society’s future.

Individuals nominated by others will be contacted by the National Headquarters staff to request this information.

PLEASE NOTE: Materials will not be edited by the National Nominating Committee or O∆K National Headquarters staff; therefore, it is essential that candidates carefully prepare and review their materials before submitting them.

All such information should be sent to the attention of Executive Director Singer, no later than March 1, 2018. Questions or concerns may also be sent to [email protected]


Omicron Delta Kappa Headquarters
224 McLaughlin Street
Lexington, VA 24450