Honorary Membership in Omicron Delta Kappa

Many of Omicron Delta Kappa’s most notable members are individuals who were initiated into circles in the category of Honoris Causa (honorary) membership. A number of OΔK circles work closely with the leadership of their host institutions to identify those individuals who are significant leaders in their respective fields and have an important relationship with the school.  On occasion, a circle will invite a potential Honoris Causa member to speak at an initiation ceremony and take the opportunity to induct this individual at that time.

Some recent Honoris Causa initiates include Georgios A. Papandreou, former prime minister of Greece by the Harding University Circle; Michael Rao, president of Virginia Commonwealth University by the VCU Circle; and Congresswoman Elise Stefanik by the SUNY – Plattsburgh Circle.

Each circle may induct one Honoris Causa initiate each academic year and have the initiation fee waived. Circles located in institutions having a student matriculation of less than 1,000 shall not elect more than two honorary members during any one academic year. Circles located in institutions with more than 1,000 students may elect a maximum of four honorary members during any one academic year. Honoris Causa members may be asked to complete the online membership application or an institutional representative may complete the form on that individual’s behalf.