15 ODK Founders

Omicron Delta Kappa was founded on Dec. 3, 1914 on the campus of Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Va. The Society was founded by a group of 15 students and faculty who believed that leadership at the collegiate level should be recognized and encouraged across all phases of campus life. The motives which guided the founders sprang from the desire to bring together one body for the general good of the institution, leaders from all parts of the college or university community. The success of the O∆K Idea, an essential part of which is its inter-generational nature and a determination to maintain a consistent and high standard of leadership recognition, led to the establishment of chapters, which we call circles, at other colleges.



J. Carl Fisher
Rupert Nelson Latture
William Moseley Brown
Dr. Henry Louis Smith
Dr. De la Warr Benjamin Easter
Professor David Carlisle Humphreys
James Edwin Bear
Carl Shaffer Davidson
Edward Parks Davis
Edward A. Donahue
Philip Pendleton Gibson
Thomas McPheeters Glasgow
John Eppes Martin
William Caulfield Raftery
John Purver Richardson, Jr.

Initially, the founders had no intention of extending the Society to other college campuses. However, requests for charters began to come in from local groups at The Johns Hopkins University, the University of Pittsburgh and Davidson College. It was clear that the OΔK Idea was one that could benefit other institutions of higher learning. By 1917—just three years after founding the Washington and Lee Circle—Omicron Delta Kappa became a national leadership honor society.

During World War I, OΔK remained intact in large part because of its faculty members—many of whom were too old to serve in the Army or Navy. After the war when students returned to their campuses, OΔK continued to grow and develop, chartering new circles at colleges and universities across the country.

In 1974, the OΔK National Convention approved the initiation of women into the Society. Twelve women were initiated at the Convention. In 1998, another woman made OΔK history—Cheryl M. Hogle became the first woman elected to serve as OΔK National President. In 2003, Sally Jones Hill became the first woman to receive the Laurel Crowned Circle Award.

To learn more about the history of OΔK, we encourage you to read The Laurel Crowned Circle: Omicron Delta Kappa and 100 Years of Leadership. The book is for sale through our online store at National Headquarters for $10 (including shipping). Please contact us at 1-877-ODK-NHDQ (635-6437) or email [email protected].