Timeline of O∆K Governance Transitions

1914 – Omicron Delta Kappa founded at Washington and Lee University, December 3, 1914, as a fraternity; first National President elected and served to 1920

1917 – Establishment of General Council to govern organization of three circles

1920 – First national convention held at Johns Hopkins University; creation of position of General Secretary (volunteer position)

1925 – Creation of the position of Executive Secretary fulfilling duties of General Secretary, National Treasurer, Extension Secretary, and Publicity Secretary

1929 – First scholarship campaign for a single scholarship

1940 – Omicron Delta Kappa begins to identify as a society instead of a fraternity

1974 – Women admitted to membership

1981 – Maurice A. Clay named first full-time Executive Director (professional position)

1982 – Creation of the Omicron Delta Kappa Foundation, incorporated in Florida in 1984; Foundation Board of Trustees establishing as the governing body for the Foundation

Late 1980s/Early 1990s – Transition from General Council to Executive Council to Society Board of Directors model to govern the Omicron Delta Kappa Society

1992 – Omicron Delta Kappa Society incorporated in Kentucky

2000 – Convention delegates approve a province governance structure which provided geographic representation of advisors and collegiate members at the national and regional level

2002 – Convention delegates approve province realignment

2006 – Convention delegates vote to move from previous province structure to regional structure with four regions represented

2010 – Creation of the National Advisory Council and elimination of regional structure as related to governance of the Society