University of Akron


About the Circle

The Theta Circle at The University of Akron was established in 1922, making it the 8th oldest circle in the nation. The Theta Circle has a rich legacy. Many influential Theta Circle members have buildings on campus named after them; for example, Dominic Guzetta (past president), Harry Schrank (past Board of Trustees member), and Dr. Mark Auburn (past Provost). Other influential Theta Circle members in the community and on campus include Sandra Pianalto (member, J.M. Smucker Board of Directors), Dr. Dale Mugler (prior Dean, Honors College) and current president, Dr. Matthew Wilson.

As of Fall 2017, there are about 50 active members in our Circle. We are always looking for more of today’s leaders who want to get involved in our Circle, especially students and faculty who are involved in the University of Akron campus life.


The Passion Awards – Partnering with four other honoraries at the University of Akron, five professors from across campus are honored annually for their hard work and dedication to students.

“You Belong Here” Posters – Diversity and Inclusion initiative, free posters to share around campus and in the community.

Life Awards – a campus-wide award ceremony in which outstanding students are honored. The Theta Circle sponsors the Outstanding Sophomore Award and the ODK Rupert Latture Memorial New Student Organization Award.

Honors and Awards

2017 Maurice A. Clay Leadership Development Initiative Grant

2016 Circle of Distinction

2015 Superior Circle

2014 Circle of Distinction

2015 Circle President of the Year-Abigail Tanner

2013 Circle of Distinction

Tags: ,